darlingfox: (Default)
darlingfox ([personal profile] darlingfox) wrote2006-03-27 12:54 am

Naruto drabbles

Right. Naruto, like you didn't know what I've been doing. That, and exams, and damn spring which makes my hormones go insane and not in the way one would think. *gloomy*, and so easily distracted and absent-minded.

But never mind that, let's concentrate on Naruto which is awesome. The plot, the characters, the fics, the pretty pretty fanart, the whole damn thing. Mind you, I've only read the manga so I'm not familiar with the filler episodes of anime. Though I did manage to download the movie of the princess, and the four-leaved clover episode. With subtitles, so YAY, I understand what they say!

Incidentally, is there anyone who could tell how much of the manga is left out of the anime, and how much the characters change in the latter? Cool and shiny new powers, character backgrounds..? Whatever I might write will be based on the manga (mostly), and I'd like to know when I could accidentally shove spoilers down your throats. People could do with a warning or two.

I suspect this could be even funnier than the whole YYH thing (if that's possible) because the amount of possible 'ships and three-somes is almost ridiculous. And there're even het 'ships I could like. *shockgaspsurprise* Of course, we should consider that this is me who we're talking about. I'm all too happy to ignore classic YYH 'ships like Yusuke/Keiko and Kuwabara/Yukina in favor of Sakyo/Shizuru and Toguro/Genkai. Too bad I can't find fics of them, at least none worth reading. But yes, no Sasuke/Sakura for me, at least not without Naruto to balance them. Neji/Hinata and Shikamaru/Temari, however... And obviously  the Great Gay which, honestly, lurks around every corner. It's probably unhealthy to be this gleeful and surrounded by pr0n.

The drabbles, yes, experiments to see whether I really can write Naruto fics or not and if I can, are they any good. And if I can still write with limited number of letters. It's much more difficult than one would think.

One of Hinata and Neji, and one of Gaara who is the new Angsty and Pretty Plaything. A bit like Hiei but crueler. *cheers*

Disclaimer: Naruto © Masashi Kishimoto


Rights

No one questioned Hinata’s right to take her father’s place.

She was strong now, stronger than anyone had thought would be possible, and she deserved her throne. She had paid blood for it, her blood, Hyuuga blood, and she had been broken and dying and gone through fire for it.

No one questioned Neji’s right to stand beside her.

He had always been strong and surpassed all other Hyuuga by talent and sheer power. He had been and still was a dark and dangerous creature, born of the ashes of bitterness and hatred and loneliness.

No one dared to question.



Names

He’s been called by several names.

Demon, and he really can’t deny that one even though it isn’t accurate. He is only the cage containing the real thing.

A killer, of course. Every ninja is that, and he is one of the best and certainly one of the most effective ones.

The one he wanted and got is Kazekage. Finally implying something else than blood and death and darkness.

With that came guardian and leader. He rather likes them.

He likes brother even more.

And then there is his name, and that’s who he really is, deep down.

Just… Gaara.


...yes, my ability to name ficlets truly is phenomenal. Not to mention the grief of writing a simple summary. Which reminds me; anyone who can suggest a working summary for Need, as a one fic, will get a drabble of her choice (as long as I know the fandom and characters, of course).

[identity profile] blueutopiah.livejournal.com 2006-03-27 05:31 am (UTC)(link)
I see that there is no lack of Gaara lurve. I also love the Neji-ness, as he is my second fave (my first being Kimimaro - it must be the bone thing).

As for the filler - my understanding (and I don't read the manga, but I have friends who have) is that Naruto followed the manga right up until the Sasuke/Naruto fight were Sauske left to join Orichimaru, then they did a few episodes where Naruto returned and was in the hospital and then - all filler (and very crappy filler at that, we actually have been boycotting it until it returns to manga-based episodes).

I think that when it returns, they're doing Kakshi's backstory first, then jumping ahead the 3 years. I can't wait until then, because I'll be more into slashing the crap out of them since they're older.

Welcome to the addictive Naruto club. The anime is exquisite as well. (And don't think I forgot about your Peacekeeper Wars - it's next in my Netflix cue)

[identity profile] darlingfox.livejournal.com 2006-03-28 08:03 pm (UTC)(link)
Gaara is love. So cute, so angsty, so demonic. And more. I like Neji, too, but Kimimaro creeped me out. I don't mind blood but bones... *shudders* I remember I could barely sit (on bones, ewwwww!) a few years back when we were examining the human skeleton in school.

Out of curiosity, why don't you read the manga? It's ridiculously easy to find, though I did get the first link from [livejournal.com profile] viridian_magpie who decided to give me something new to obsess over.

Peacekeeper Wars! *spontaneous combustion* Farscape is probably the only series in which all the characters could wear leather and make it look hot and normal instead of ridiculous and wtf-ish.

[identity profile] blueutopiah.livejournal.com 2006-03-30 03:53 am (UTC)(link)
I think that's why I liked Kimimaro the best, just for the sheer creepiness factor - I mean, he fought both Lee and Gaara and he was only moving his body by the force of his will. If he's that good when he's almost dead, I'd hate to see him at his peak, or if Orichimaru actually did use his body.

*shudders*

I guess I don't read the manga because I watch the show. It's kind of like reading the book before seeing the movie (and we all know that the book is usually better) I also like to be surprised, one of my friends already ruined half of the storyline once the show comes back from filler.

BTW - as good as Naruto is, I've found that Bleach is much better and more slashtastic. If you have a chance, check it out.

(Anonymous) 2006-03-28 09:30 am (UTC)(link)
I`m laughing myself to death here. = this is virdian_magpie [this place has internet access but it`s rather... er, I will tell you all later. `grins`]

back to the naruto love.... yay. `is so proud that she×s to blame`

okay. gotta go. times up. have fun without me.

[identity profile] darlingfox.livejournal.com 2006-03-28 08:06 pm (UTC)(link)
You're alive! *happy grin* I was just thinking today if you were having fun.

I plan to blame you. Or perhaps thank, I haven't decided yet.

[identity profile] postingwhore.livejournal.com 2007-06-03 06:02 pm (UTC)(link)
wow, I have this saved in my memories and was like "she is my friend now!!!"

I really enjoyed the rights drabble :))