darlingfox: (Watanuki)
darlingfox ([personal profile] darlingfox) wrote2008-06-11 12:34 am

Zombies!

Who mentioned Pet Shop of Horrors not so long ago? I think it was [livejournal.com profile] ruxi but I'm not entirely sure and I'm too lazy to check. Whoever it was, thank you! :D I doubt I would've read it without a recommendation because the covers are so deceivingly shoujo-ish. But instead of fluffy bunnies we get- well, okay, fluffy bunnies but they're FROM HELL. *is impressed* I also watched the OVAs but I didn't like them all that much. The atmosphere was great but they changed the stories they chose slightly, and while Toshihiko Seki makes an excellent Sanzo he just isn't Count D.

I also read CLAMP's RG Veda and could it be any more depressing than that? NO.

And a quick pimp: IJ's porn_battle is accepting prompts. You don't have to have an account to submit prompts, you don't have to write anything and if you do write something, it doesn't have to be porn. Pairing ficlet, yes, but not necessarily smut.


You are in a mall when the zombies attack. You may bring:

1. one weapon.
2. one song blasting on the speakers.
3. one famous person to fight alongside you.

Weapon can be real or fictional, you may assume endless ammo if applicable. Person can be real or fictional.



Let's see...

1. I'd choose a flamethrower. I can't aim for shit so guns are a no go, I'd rather keep the zombies far away from me and instead of torching individual zombies, I could set the whole damn mall on fire.

2. Mitternacht (delightfully dramatic) or something totally inappropriate. The Ketchup Song? Just imagine that blasting on the speakers while you fight brain-eating undead.

3. Uh oh, so many possibilities. Zoro from One Piece, I think. He's done it before and would make a wonderful distraction while I escape and set fire on the building. The chances that the zombies survive are next to nil but it'd take more than a puny fire to kill Zoro. Failing to acquire a hot swordsman, I'd choose either a brother Winchester (Dean would probably like it more than Sam) or the Goddamn Batman.

[identity profile] ruxi.livejournal.com 2008-06-10 09:42 pm (UTC)(link)
HAH. YOU KNOW MY RECS ARE WORTH IT.

Have a Very Upset T-chan to go with.

[identity profile] darlingfox.livejournal.com 2008-06-11 05:52 pm (UTC)(link)
I KNEW IT WAS YOU. Every time I end up reading something even vaguely creepy, I begin to suspect that you recommended it.

But just so you know, I didn't like that other manga you mentioned ages ago. The one with the young boy and... something. See, I don't even remember what it was about but I'm still oddly reminded of Death Note.

[identity profile] ruxi.livejournal.com 2008-06-11 06:20 pm (UTC)(link)
HEY NOW. JUST BECAUSE A CONVENIENT STRING OF RECOMMENDATIONS HAPPEN TO LEAD TOWARDS SHRINK WARDS AND GORE -

...GOTH? Angel Sanctuary? They're both creepy.

Also, watch Mononoke. Not Princess Mononoke, but Medicine Seller Mononoke - the sequel to Ayakashi.

*enables*

[identity profile] darlingfox.livejournal.com 2008-06-13 11:51 am (UTC)(link)
AND THAT ISN'T EVEN A LI~TTLE BIT WORRYING..?

I meant Goth but now that you mentioned it, I don't like Angel Sanctuary either. I tried reading it (TWICE! you can't say I didn't try!) but the art bugged me too much. I'm not sure what it is but it's just a big "blaaah, do not want" for me.

Right, Mononoke. I've seen a few pics of the medicine seller and, er, the art may become a problem again if it isn't better than the fanarts. :/

[identity profile] postingwhore.livejournal.com 2008-06-12 10:34 pm (UTC)(link)
RG VEDA IS SO EPICLY TRAGIC :x

[identity profile] darlingfox.livejournal.com 2008-06-13 11:46 am (UTC)(link)
"Rocks fall, everyone dies" describes it almost perfectly because ~90% of the cast gets killed. ;___;