darlingfox: (Default)
darlingfox ([personal profile] darlingfox) wrote2007-08-25 01:50 pm

A week in manga

Obviously this post is FULL OF SPOILERS.

Bleach: chapter 288

Szayel deep-throats a sword and turns into a fairy. How gay is that? Seems to me that Kishimoto and KT have a bet on who manages to include more innuendo into his work. Unless Bleach will soon have naked men all over each other (yes please!), KT's losing.

The upcoming clone fight reminds me of Saiyuki and Naruto. Of course the originals will be better. What did Sanzo say, "I'm not going to lose to me from yesterday"?

But I was so happy to see Ishida and Renji! It's hard to believe that all this Hueco Mundo-ing has lasted a day or so in Bleach time. Not that I had anything against the Ichigo vs. Grimmjow fight, but I'm getting sort of bored. Hopefully Nell will blast Noitra through the nearest wall and they can gather the others and finally leave. :D



Naruto: chapter 367

I can barely believe that we finally know Naruto's parents names. O.O I have nothing againt them, but Kishimoto really isn't all that subtle. Namikaze = wave wind. Does anyone want to guess what his elements probably were? *rolls eyes*

And Minato means "beautiful child" if it's the masculine version of Minako, (and damn it's creepy that I recently called a young crossdressing Kakashi Minako in a YonKaka fic). Well, he was awfully pretty. :D

Uzumaki Kushina sounds both interesting and like a Mary Sue. A tomboyins redhead from a mysterious country and who married the hero? I hope Kishimoto either leaves it there or handles it well.

Now I'm expecting to see Naruto's relatives everywhere because there was no reason to mention Kushina's hair-colour unless it'll be a plot point later. Possibly it'll have something to do with Pein since we just saw him and his red(ish) hair.

So many people seem to think that we're nearing the end of the manga, but I'm not sure if I'll agree. Sasuke and Itachi finally met, yes, but somehow I don't see Sasuke killing Itachi at all. Someone else will do it or Itachi will do the typical and die while saving Sasuke's life. Besides, we have yet to hear what Madara has planned and I always thought that we would see Naruto as the Hokage. Though I suppose that Kishimoto could pull a Rowling and make an epilogue or something like that.



One Piece: chapter 468

I so love it when OP has both crack and seriousness in a perfect balance. Sanji and Zoro zombies were hilarious in the middle of Chopper's grief and anger. ;__; I can't wait to see how he kicks some creepy doctor ass.

The whole situation (making zombies is a bad thing because they're not humans after it) reminds me of something else but I'm not sure what. *frowns* I'm not even sure if it's a manga or not.

Naruto

[identity profile] xinexpressiblex.livejournal.com 2007-08-26 11:37 pm (UTC)(link)
We all know Pein is Naruto's uncle. Which makes my Pein/Yondi theory/crack that much kinkier XDDD;; ♥

Also, I don't think it's that close to being over either. Even on the off chance that Sasuke does kill Itachi there's still the fact that someone has to fight Pein. Jiraiya and Tsunade either have to kick the bucket or pull through. As you said, the whole Madara plot needs to be expanded upon (including HTF does Kyuubi know him?). Naruto needs to find out about his lineage. Akatsuki has to make a real move on getting Naruto.

And most importantly, Sasuke and Naruto have to have a 19740175 chapter fight in which we find out what 'That Move' was that Jiraiya taught Naruto during the three years they were away.

tl;dr: WAAAAAAAAAAAY too many things are unresolved for the manga to be nearing its end.

Re: Naruto

[identity profile] darlingfox.livejournal.com 2007-08-27 07:36 am (UTC)(link)
I'm almost certain that Jiraiya will die. Every time a manga character (important but not the main character) is going to fight an überwonderful villain and says that he's not going to die, he is going to die. It's like with Asuma: if a minor character suddenly gets more background and screentime, it's time to arrange his funeral...

Sasuke and Naruto have to have a 19740175 chapter fight

...They will, won't they? *sigh* I hope it'll interesting and not boring. And if the whole Konoha accepts Sasuke back (if he doesn't die), I think I'm going to scream.

Re: Naruto

[identity profile] xinexpressiblex.livejournal.com 2007-08-27 07:47 am (UTC)(link)
...Just like with Asuma I'm going to read away in denial. T_T It makes me so sad to know that Jiraiya's gonna kick the bucket. He's so much fun!

I don't think I'll mind the never ending fight scene, but my first OTP was SasuNaru so I still have the instinctive joy when they have screen time together, even if it's shitty screentime XDDDD